The Copywriting Jungle


There is a distinct reason to write on the internet, we could all use help to learn something we don’t know. The problem is that the amount of information available is staggering. I could link my way to oblivion, and have the opinions of all other copywriters, and still not know the truth. I imagine that there is no “truth”, just opinions. Determining what might be useful is the issue. Just when you think you have found something new, you can attache the word “scam” to your Google search and find out why you shouldn’t follow the advice you just spent hours gleaning. The truth is elusive! Truth in advertising is even more so. If you track down each avenue towards a product you will eventually be bewildered by the profuse means that exist to get you to pull out your credit card.

I’m sitting here typing, for similar purposes. At some point I want someone to pull out their credit card and use my services. (Yep, that’s my link on this page just waiting for you to click on it and call me) That is the nature of selling. Whatever works. The facts are that if you need something, you will buy it. Why you choose my product over someone else is based on a thousand factors, all of which you will take into consideration, consciously or subconsciously, and then you will buy. As a copywriter I want to present you with direct, clear information, and need to recognize that I am selling to just a small target group– the people that need what I am selling. The problem with my product is; that I’m selling “selling”. The product is selling products. To make matters worse, I don’t have ten years of experience to fall back on. The good news is that no one else had it either when they started.

With that being said, I am finding a copywriting jungle out there, new terms, new means to sell your writing, the intertwining of ad copy and blogging, facts and fiction about how to promote websites, new jargon, endless reviews and questionable content. This is a world of specialization rather than generalities. I need to find a niche and work it consistently. It is difficult to even make sense of it to those I am closest to. “What is it you are actually doing???” is the question I am sure they are asking.

I am writing advertising for businesses. I am learning how to influence consumers to buy. My best tool at the moment is curiosity, and determination to earn a living from my neck up instead of from my neck down. It’s time consuming, and it’s like being dropped in a jungle blindfolded and finding your way out. That is the nature of any venture, and so it is not a complaint, just a statement. Trust in your own abilities is the challenge. I can’t allow others to pull me off course. They have found their own way, and this is mine.

~ by fwaldes on May 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
